What’s Your Problem?

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Uncategorized, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

After a recent rejection of a short story, I put it to my peers for review and critique. I learned a lot.

 

It wasn’t clear what the problem was, or who it was that had the problem. As writers of fiction, we know that conflict is what makes a story, and resolution of conflict is what keeps the reader happy. Although in my mind there was conflict, it wasn’t clear to the reader.

 

Everyone has a problem of sorts. It may be big, or it may be small. But it is essential to story. It could be anything.

 

So I sat with my story, picked who was going to have the problem, wrote what the problem was and thought how it may be solved. I may still have got it wrong. But I have learned something. And I will learn more.

 

So, next time you are stuck, and your story feels flat, sit your character down and ask: What’s Your Problem?

Comments
  1. That’s great feedback, thanks for sharing.

  2. Good point, well made, Sam. Without a problem there’s no story.

Leave a Reply

