Disorganised

Posted: March 5, 2012 in Uncategorized, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Is organisation a trait writers should have?

 

For me, it is that time of the month, where I tally up my expenses against my income. There is a lot of expenses, and no income. I find this a helpful exercise, not only for the tax man, when I need it, but to see how I have fared in terms of productivity. Considering I haven’t finished another story since the one in January, I think you can say I haven’t done all good at all!

 

It is fair to say, that productivity plummeted, due to a personal issue, but I have done a hell of a lot of writing. Just not enough. So I thought about what it is I was doing. What am I writing? About 10 different fictional pieces and 3 non fic. Why? What is their purpose? The novel, for competitions, publication and the cause.

 

Then I am doing too much. Then I think to the unwritten novel, my ultimate writing aim. But that could take years.

 

I read of other writers getting so much more done. I don’t know how. I miss competition deadlines, or send flimsy stories in because I am so disorganised! It pains me to admit it, but I really am! But I have no idea how to organise myself.

 

One idea I have had is getting a pad, and writing down each months competition deadlines down, and not starting the next piece until I have finished the last. But then, when would I write the novel?

 

I will give it a go anyway, when I can organise myself. I do have a list, but that doesn’t seem to be working out so well. Feel free to put suggestions below! I need them!

 

I just hope you are more organised – and more successful than I am.

 

Comments
  1. Wonder how many men scarpered when they read “For me, it is that time of the month” :P

    Yes, I think writers should be organised…but I also think we should be chaotic. If you stick to much to rigidity and planning then you end up losing those random bursts of inspiration that usually strike when you least expect it.

    I think you have to look at productivity across the board rather than in small segments of time. You might not be very productive now but you’ll have months where you write a hell of a lot and end up finishing countless stories.

    It all balances out in the end.

  2. raelke says:

    I agree with the above comment that too much rigidity and planning could be stifling rather than productive, however I started a new system this year which is working well so far.

    I laminated twelve pieces of printer paper and wrote the name of a month on each. I stuck them up in order on the wall around my desk and I write competition deadlines etc on them with a whiteboard marker. I like being able to see the year planned out like that right in from of me- so even deadlines for later in the year can be put up immediately and I can see them approaching.

Leave a Reply

