Herman the German from Detmold

Posted: March 21, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Nederlands: deeg (nog te bakken)

As promised, here is the additional blog! Expect to see one every Wednesday from now on.

Today, I am going to talk about something a little bit different. It isn’t writing related, though I am sure that it could be used in someone’s writing some time.

I am going to be telling you about my new friend ‘Herman the German’.

He is a cake, and he was given to me by my friend. He is also known as a German Friendship cake. If you google it, you will get many hits.

He came up in conversation one day. I have German roots, so my friend asked me if I had ever heard of the German Friendship Cake before. I said that I hadn’t, but as I came to England when I was 6 months old, this wasn’t overly surprising. So I said I would ask my mother when I spoke to her next, as she spent 27 years of her life in Germany and has returned there. Before I spoke to my mother, I googled it, disappointed that I wasn’t aware of this wonderful thing from half of my culture. It turned out it was actually Amish. Now, I don’t think the Amish are German, but I could be wrong.

But anyway, I still asked my mum. This is how the conversation went (kind of):

Me: Hi mum, do you know what a German Friendship Cake is?

Mum: No, never heard of it. Probably some strange thing.

Me: Well, it is called Herman the German. Does that ring any bells?

Mum: Oh, Nikki (My sister Nicole, also German) used to know a Herman in Paderborn or Lippstadt. Somewhere round there. Maybe that’s where it came from.

Me: Okay, thanks mum. Bye.

Later, I got a call from my mother, and it went like this:

Me: Hello?

Mum: Hello, it’s only me. I know where Herman is from. Detmold!

Me: Mum, it is not named after Nikki’s friend.

Mum: Well, Herman is a very German name.

So, you can see, if Herman the German is truly from Germany, he probably originated in Detmold.

But if you look on the internet, you will see that most people think it was the Amish, who gave food to the poor and needy.

I have my little bowl of mixture, and in 5 days time, I will be dividing him into 4, and giving 3 away to friends. I look forward to having a taste of him. He is a sour dough mixture, and if you want to start your own, you can find out how on the internet too!

I will let you know if I kill him. Yes, he can be killed. The instructions say that if he stops bubbling he is dead.

If you want to know more about the Friendship Cake, you can click here.

Comments
  1. Deb Farl says:

    That made me smile….I could even hear that conversation you had with your mum as I read it…nothing changes :-)

  2. Debbie W says:

    I’ve made a Herman. He was very tasty.

Leave a Reply

