Why bother?

 

 

 

Why do I bother?

 

This is a question that I asked myself, though at first it wasn’t about writing.

 

I then realised that it is a very good question to put to writers too.

 

I am sure that you will all agree, writing is a hard slog at times. You get bored of a character, or the words just won’t flow. Or perhaps that story you wrote 10 years ago has given you ten times as many rejections. And so you think that maybe you aren’t cut out for this.  And you hang your hat up, and throw your pens in the bin.

 

Only, a day or 10 from that day that you throw your pens in the bin, you feel, well………weird. Your pulse is okay. Your breathing is okay. Your eyes and gums are pink (and if this doesn’t apply to you, go see a doctor. Please!)

 

So what could be wrong? Then you realise. It has been a while since you wrote. And how you miss it! No wonder you feel like you are dying. Your life blood hasn’t been nurtured.

 

Then you realise why you bother. Because you need to. You need to write.

 

Taking a break is good. I have taken one. I have lived a little. And I remember why I bother.

 

Why do you?

Comments
  1. liz young says:

    My “Why bother?” moments come when I get rejections, especially like the one last week which had looked so hopeful. Then i spend a week or two travelling with the OH and have no time to myself, and I get twitchy. So the answer is the same as yours – because I must.

  2. Hi Sam
    Interesting post. I’ve just had this expereince myself. No real writing for several weeks (though I’ve been doing writing-related things). Felt so dry and fed up. Then woke up yesterday morning with an urge to write. Nothing special, just diary words. But today – I’m working on something new and feel *so* much better – yes, you’re exactly right. This is why we bother as writers – it’s the writing itself.

  3. Yes I get like this too. A rest is good and I find new ideas come when I step away from my MS for a break, not for too long.

  4. You are sooooo right!!!!

    Ive had a day off today and it’s been lovely, but, I can feel this kind of unease creeping up on me. I think a break has done me good, but, I can’t wait to get a pen back in my hand lol

    Xx

  5. I often think ‘Why bother?’ but for some reason I keep going. It must be an addiction…

Leave a comment